Stitch ‘N Bitch Crochet : The Happy Hooker

By Debbie Stoller

 

A Book Review.. By Elizabeth Jacobsen

I think we should get the boring technical details out of the way. This book is 292 pages of pure fun! It’s a nice size to tuck into your project bag and comes in soft cover and hard cover form. Well there is rumor of the hard cover, I have personally never seen it but, of course that doesn’t mean it’s not real, right ? I had been envious of the knitters until now. This book takes a practical and fun approach to the basics and a little beyond. Of course, not every technique is covered and honestly, I don’t see how she could have covered every thing. In my opinion, if you want something to teach you every thing, you might try to find a few good reference books. If you want something fun, keeping you interested, this is the book for you . It contains 40 fresh patterns, a brief history of crochet, and “instructions so clear any one can learn to crochet-even a knitter!”

I had my reservations about this book. It had been hyped. Every one was going on and on about how they couldn’t wait to get their copy. You know, the normal frenzy over fun and fresh things in the crochet world. I really try not to feed into all of it because usually it leads to disappointment. This time was the exception. I really DO like this book. With every new publication though, there are ups and downs of it all. If you buy this book expecting to be in love with every single pattern, you will be disappointed. However, I feel the book has such a span of fun patterns it will appeal to many. Our very own Carmen ( lilhatshack) and Amie (Nexstitch) are featured in this book. Did I like every pattern in this book? Well, of course not! But who ever likes every selection in a pattern book. I do know I will make at least five projects from this book. That alone makes it worth it to me.

One of the best features of this book is the yarn selections used. The range is incredible. The detail given in the yarn selections is awesome as well. There is enough information given so a substitution should be a breeze! The informational portion of the book also goes over weights and fibers giving the beginner enough information to be able to navigate a change in yarn as well.

So, if you are looking for a fun, funky, and fresher approach to crochet, this is one book worth considering. Ms. Stoller has taken what has been perceived as a grandma craft and made it fun and fresh for the younger generation.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with grandma crochet in my book, but let’s remember when we were younger we wanted to be hipper than that !

 

