Baa Baa Black Sheep Have You Any Wool?

A yarn review by Elizabeth Jacobsen

I was given the challenge of being yarn reviewer for this newsletter. I say challenge because there are SO many nice yarns to be had and so many nice things to be said, I found it a challenge to try to come up with a grouping for my first review.

This month’s review is on wool. I chose to review three wools this go. I will be discussing Brown Sheep’s Lamb’s Pride, Cascade 220, and Reynold’s Lopi. These wools all make excellent felting/fulling yarns. As a matter of fact one of my very first fulling experiences was with Lamb’s Pride. It was so easy and fulled so well you can imagine my surprise the next time I tried it with a different yarn and the result wasn’t as nice.

Lamb’s Pride is a 85% wool, 15% mohair blend yarn. It comes in worsted and bulky weights. The worsted comes in a 190 yard skein while the bulky comes in 125 yard skeins, both in one ply form. This yarn is soft to the touch even if you don’t use it for your next felted project! I will say this yarn comes out furrier than any other yarn I have used for felting due to the mohair content. I love the results and for about 7 dollars a skein it’s a reasonable choice. It comes in lovely range of colours with the bulky being a little more restricted in colour choice.

Cascade 220 is also a very nice choice for basic wool. As the name suggests, it comes in a 220 yard hank and is a 3-ply worsted weight 100% Peruvian highland wool. This yarn is very soft to the touch and when felted makes a nice dense fabric smoother than the Lamb’s Pride. It is also a good basic yarn to use in sweaters and garments because of the softness and very wide range of colours and heathers. This yarn is also a reasonable choice at about 7.50 a hank. It also comes in a super wash form, if you want to make a nice sweater and not risk the shrinkage!

Last but definitely not least, we have Reynold’s Lopi . A 100% Icelandic wool and always a classic. It comes in 109 yard skeins and is a slightly bulkier weight and is offered in a bulky as well with 67 yards per skein. This yarn is used for those classic Icelandic sweaters and it also fulls like a dream. The resulting fabric I have found to be a little more dense and stiff than the two other yarns being reviewed which would make this the perfect yarn for hand bags or totes that wouldn’t need a liner for extra support and also for hats where you would want more body for the finished product. This yarn also comes in a wide range of colours and variegates and is a great yarn for the price about 6.50 a skein.

So make your way to your local yarn store or favourite online market place and try some of these great wools ! I don’t think you will be disappointed.

