So Simple Crochet by Melody Griffiths
2006, Creative Homeowner Publications



When I first came upon So Simple Crochet at my local bookstore that little tickle of disappointment that I normally feel after a quick scan through a crochet book was wonderfully absent. The book is split into four sections – Classic, Weekend, Casual, and Glamorous. 12 of the patterns are wearables (cardigans, jackets, tops), while the rest cover a wide range of accessories, including scarves, wraps, and hats.

Don’t let the title fool you, this is not a book of simple patterns. Instead, I found a wide range of projects that will challenge without overwhelming a beginner crocheter while also not losing the interest of an intermediate or advanced crocheter. My personal favorites include the Long Zigzag scarf because I love the bright colors and the ripple design as a different approach to a scarf, the Shimmery Tank Top which looks wonderfully simple to make, the Cardigan with Ruffled Edge is a perfect addition to any wardrobe for casual wear, and finally, the Shell-Edged Shrug is such a great classical design that I wish had a few additional sizing options.

I was not impressed with the poncho designs, but as with everything, it is a personal preference. I feel like the big flower motifs used in the book’s poncho, wrap, and scarf designs are a little well…. big. I would love the Tassel-Edged Wrap if the flower motifs were left off of the tassels, so with a little personal modification of the pattern, I would consider it for a fall project. Overall, I do recommend the book to anyone considering expanding their skills into wearables.

